“What’s your favorite thing to do?”

“What’s your favorite this to do?” was the Question of the Day during Work and Play at preschool today. The kids sometimes have questions that are just worth asking everyone and this was the question bouncing around the room this morning. They asked me this question and before I had the chance to respond one of them asked:

“Is teaching your favorite?”

This response caught me off guard, bringing to a stop the Manic Monday we were whirling through already and it only surprised me because a 4-year-old knew a basic truth: Miss Kylie loves to teach.

Of course I told the kids that I love to teach! I’ve been “teaching” since I was in the 6th grade myself and I’ve loved every second of it. I had dreamed as a kid that I would be a teacher and everyone told me I would grow up to be a great teacher, so naturally I avoided the idea of teaching professionally my whole life.

Yes, I was not enthused about the ida of teaching because I had bigger dreams too. Not to mention, the career of teaching had been chosen for me by everyone I knew. I wanted a career I had chosen for myself. Then I interned at a church and ran the Children’s Ministry for a year and half and I found my true calling – teaching.

When a 4 year old can pick up my love of teaching I obviously get enthused. My passion for the art of teaching and the love of my kids stands up for itself.

Then the kids asked, “Do you love teaching us?”

That one hit me. This is a class of mostly 4 year olds who will be going into Pre-K next year with more than likely a new teacher, and here they were asking me “do you love teaching us?”

In one week I teach ages 2-5, I teach 3rd and 4th graders in a worship team, and I teach 5th and 6th grade on Sunday Mornings. I’m around a varying age group all week long but here on this Manic Monday my 4 year olds ask “do you love teaching us?”

Clearly this has reverberated through me all day long. I told them exactly how I felt, too:

Of course I love teaching! Ever day of the week, from 9am – 5pm I get to play all day because at our school we believe and know that play is an integral part of a child’s learning process. We do some hands on learning, but our focus is play and fun. To top it all off, my first year in this school I was blessed with possibly the best group of 20 kids I could have ever known. No, I don’t see all 20 in one day, but I love getting to know them and spending the day with them.

This year I’ve seen the quietest kid in class give me a hug one day, out of the blue and out of character, and I’ve seen her personality blossoming. I’ve seen the kid who flat out tells you he hates school tell his mom two weeks ago with complete content that he loves preschool. ┬áThe boy who refuses to talk holds conversations with the girl who started off the year acting helpless and has become a true peer model for our class.

I love people – I can’t help it. I see ALL people as beautiful and the kids in my class are prime exhibits.

Yes I love teaching.

This is why.

Leave a Reply

